{Hearts} Fabric Boxes

{This is the first post from my side kick – Miss Firefly. She’s amazingly creative, so I just know you’ll enjoy this blog posts and all future ones!}

I’m usually off the computer on weekends, because my husband is home and as he takes over our mean machine, I get demoted to our trusty old laptop which seems to go slower every day.

Instead of pulling my hair at the kind of service I usually get from the laptop, I whipped out my sewing machine and fabrics instead and made myself a fabric box to hold the many knick-knacks/crap that has dominated and taken over my life. I was so happy after finishing one box though that I couldn’t stop myself from making more, experimenting in the sizes and fabric combinations.

It was a bit difficult at first, and I may have ripped seams more than once but after one box, I finally got the hang of it. With three fabric boxes, I couldn’t make up my mind where to put them…in the bathroom? In my craft room? In the bedroom? I finally decided to organize our bedroom dresser with the three of them, and everything was so neat that even the husband approved! I’ll be making more for our bathrooms, so if you’d want a tutorial, leave a comment and I’ll remember to take pictures of the process next time. 
 
Thanks for dropping by here, and have a great week!

Comments
5 Responses to “{Hearts} Fabric Boxes”
  1. evalys says:

    That’s brilliant! They’re so adorable! I wish I was handy with the sewing machine, but no…. needles are my enemies. =( Machines too, for that matter.

  2. glenville says:

    they’re so cute! i want that tutorial. 🙂

  3. kspin says:

    What a great idea! These would be perfect for my girls’ dresser top! Can’t wait to see what else you do!

  4. JavaQueen says:

    Oh, I’d love a tutorial, these turned out adorable and so functional- hey, how did you make them stiff enough to support your items? Is it cardboard in the fabric?

  5. ms firefly says:

    thank you!
    i’ll post a tutorial on my next post then. ♥

    @JQ, i used fiber fill, a bit bulky to sew, but would really hold up the thing.

Leave a Reply

